The Causeway Suite

An original suite of music for jazz orchestra

A five part tone poem inspired by the Giants Causeway and the scenic north coast of Northern Ireland. Recorded live at The Venue, Leeds College of Music in December 2009 and released in May 2010, it went on to win multiple awards including a 2010 British Composers Award for Contemporary Jazz Composition. The jazz orchestra conducted a short album launch tour in the north of England and the suite was featured in performances by John Warrens Voice of the North Jazz Orchestra, the Leeds College of Music Contemporary Jazz Orchestra and received play on BBC Radio 3 and Radio Ulster.

The album is available on CD/digital download from Bandcamp and scores and parts are available for “name your price” from the online shop.


  • Composer
  • Arranger
  • Conductor


  • SAXES: Jim Corry, James Russell, Simon Kaylor, Ben Mallinder, Emma Frampton
  • TRUMPETS: Gaz Smith, Sean Hollis, Steve Parry, Reuben Fowler, Simon Nixon
  • TROMBONES: Stuart Garside, Matt Ball, Kyle Shiels, Rosie Nichol
  • FLUTE: Katie Hawcutt
  • ACCORDION: Phill Wilcox
  • FRENCH HORN: Tom Bettley
  • PIANO: Jami Sheriff
  • GUITAR: Nick Tyson
  • BASS: Garry Jackson
  • DRUMS: Kris Wright